“Not very bright”


My boss is pretty much the worst person in the world. He drinks on the job, he belittles me publicly (that is, when he’s not sexually harassing me), and he’s overall just a dumb guy. Every morning when he comes in he rates my appearance from 1-10. “Good morning, Leslie,” he’ll say, looking me over. “Six.” What I almost hate more is that, whether I want to or not, I actually try to look nice so I can get a higher rating. When I get an eight or a nine, I actually feel like I’m on top of the world or something. How pathetic is that. And whenever I ask him a question, no matter what the question is, his response is the same: “You’re not very bright, are you.” Not a question, an observation. I think he even intentionally speaks vaguely to lure me into asking a lot of questions. “Did he call yet?” “Did who call?” “You’re not very bright, are you. Johnson. Did Johnson call yet.” “Ed Johnson from Tampa or Greg Johnson from Tallahassee?” “You’re not very bright, are you. Binnie Johnson from Charleston.” “You told me not to fax the forms over to the South Carolina office.” “You’re not very bright, are you. I’m talking Charleston, West Virginia. You know, the fucking state capital?” He actually has me starting to doubt my own intelligence — did I just get really lucky on all those exams? before this job had I, by chance, only interacted with the dumbest people in the universe who, by comparison, made me seem smart? should I just give up on having a career and start pumping out not-very-bright babies? God, I can’t wait until one of us gets fired!

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses to ““Not very bright””


  1. 1 smart guy November 30, 2010 at 4:29 PM

    don’t worry.. its not you, its him! you sound smart, and i’m a smart guy, so i’d know 🙂

  2. 2 ugh! November 30, 2010 at 11:25 PM

    I hate when people set you up like that. I went to school with a girl who always used French phrases and then was like, “Oh, you don’t know FRENCH?” Hated that bitch.

  3. 3 wrong November 30, 2010 at 11:30 PM

    the capital of west virginia is west richmond, not charlestown, you idiot. funny article tho.


Leave a Reply

Top Rated

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers


