Save money. Live better.


I work at this store called Walmart. Maybe you’ve heard of it? They sell TVs and vegetables and stuff. And ya know what? It’s not that bad. I mean, sure, the pay is pretty awful, and the fluorescent lighting makes my head hurt after a while, but I can handle that. I’m only seventeen, for crying out loud — I don’t need a 401k yet. I don’t think.

What I really don’t like is how people make me feel for working at Walmart. Whenever one of my teachers or one of my friends’ parents walks through the checkout line, they act like I’m putting down animals for the pound. “My gosh, Billy,” they’ll say, “I didn’t know you were working here. Is everything okay at home? How are you holding up?” My English teacher even gave me a “tip,” which I told him I really didn’t want or need: “Come on, Billy, I know how Walmart treats its employees. Take the money. God knows you deserve it for putting up with this place.” “It’s not so bad,” I said. “You put on a brave face, Billy, and I admire that. Take the money.”

I don’t get it — what kind of job do these people expect me to get? I’m seventeen, I have no job experience, and no real skills. Unless there’s a company that wants to hire me as resident skateboarder / frozen-pizza chef, I’m gonna be working at a place like Walmart. And it’s not that bad, damn it! That is, as long as everyone’s not trying to convince me how pathetic and unfortunate I am for working there.

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

0 Responses to “Save money. Live better.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Rated

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers


